Hot in the City

SoHo-Cafe

NYC was fantastic, but man was it hot!  90+ degrees and crazy humid in mid-September. Seriously?!  I forgot how uncomfortable it is standing underground waiting for the subway in the sweltering heat.  NYC, I still love you, but my heart is officially entrenched in San Francisco forevermore.

So what did I do during that hot week in the city?  I spent time reconnecting with amazing friends who have been in my life since our Penn State days nearly 15 years ago.  Despite months or years that go by without seeing one another, it’s like no time has passed whenever we get together.  Are they beautiful or what?!

Mitika-Shiv

We had some lovely dinners at Catch, Beauty & Essex and Koi.  And don’t even get me started on all the yummy homemade goodness at Veena Auntie’s house in Long Island.

We shopped around SoHo and spent some serious time in Halston Heritage.

Heritage-Halston

We ate cheesecake and enjoyed the air conditioning of this adorable cupcake shop.  I was so happy to be cool and eating, I forgot the name of the joint.

Cupcake-Shop

And we stayed up talking into the wee hours of the night.  It almost felt like we were back at school minus those pesky classes and papers.  I can’t wait until our next reunion in Europe next year.  Old friends never get old; and for that I am eternally grateful.

2 thoughts on “Hot in the City

  1. Sounds like you had a time to remember! Is it hot in NYC still? Is still hot here, i’m sure it will be for a while. I think Im gonna have to pull out the popsicle recipes:)

    • Hey Nicole!! It was certainly hot when I was there. I’m sure it’s cooled down by now though. I’m so happy to be back in SF. Even thought it’s a month away, I’m already excited about Halloween. What shall Orelia be this year?! Hmmmm…..;-)

Leave a Reply

