Empire State of Mind

Bryant-Park

I’m so excited to celebrate my birthday in NYC next week.  I’ll be spending a couple of days with grad school friends (We are Penn State!) along the North Shore of Long Island.  Then it’s off to the city for 3 days of exploring, eating, people watching and soaking up the energy of one of my favorite cities.

I’m usually not one to plan out a vacation itinerary.  I like to do whatever I feel like on a whim.  It’s one of the many joys of being single.  However, there are a few places on my NYC “to do” list.

  1. Dominique Ansel Bakery – I must try a cronut.  The sheer idea of a hybrid pastry that’s half croissant, half donut has my taste buds grinning from ear to ear.
  2. Eataly –  Mario Batali and the half dozen friends who keep raving about this gourmet Italian food mecca can’t be wrong.
  3. Grimaldi’s – Ever since I spent a month living in Brooklyn Heights, I’ve been enchanted with that neighborhood.  Eating a few slices of pizza followed by a moonlight stroll along the Promenade is high on my list.  (Yes, there’s a theme here.  Food makes me happy!!)
  4. TKTS – I always love the thrill of waiting on the TKTS line, asking for the best available solo ticket (often in the first few rows) and spending a night on Broadway.
  5. Shopping in SoHo – Sorry San Francisco, I love you, but your boutiques kinda suck in comparison to NYC.
  6. The Met – Even after visiting Cairo, I still feel a sense of mystery and excitement walking through the Egyptian exhibit.  My trips there are usually followed by a walk through Central Park with a hot dog and/or ice cream cone in hand.

If you have any favorite places in NYC that I should visit, I’d love to hear from you.

5 thoughts on “Empire State of Mind

  1. Oh a dream!!! Truly!!! Julie is sounds like a trip of a lifetime. Wish I could come with, and we could eat the town up!!! Together:)

    ps- when i was reading, I missed a comma and I read, “exploring and eating people” and I actually became slightly intrigued. its probably for the best, i’m thinking people probably don’t plate so well:) kisses xoxo

    • Nicole!!! Oh, how fun we would have together in NYC. That’s hilarious…I need to be careful about what I write. I don’t think eating people would be too good. Although I do tell Orelia often that she’s so cute I could just eat her up. 😉

      Lots of kisses right back to you. Love you!

Leave a Reply

