You Can Take the Girl Out of the Country…

Anderson-Valley

But you can’t take the country out of the girl.  As cliché as it is, this statement is so true for me.  My time in Mendocino the past couple of months has proven it like never before.

I want to drive down winding country roads.  I want to smell fresh cut grass.  I want to hear the crunch of gravel under my feet as I walk down the drive way.  I want to hear the cicadas singing in the summer heat.  I want to sit on the front porch with a glass of lemonade (okay let’s be real…a glass of pinot noir) and wave to the neighbors as they stroll by.

I’m so grateful that I had the opportunity to do just that all last week.  It was the best week of 2013.  And while I’m a tad sad to say goodbye to my holiday, I’m excited because something tells me the rest of this year is only going to get better and better.  Bring it on!

Country

Country-Barn

Leave a Reply

