Make Someone Happy

Orelia

{Orelia: Thanks for making me happy every single day!}

I was in a bit of a slump a few weeks ago.  I knew I needed to make a change, but couldn’t really put my finger on it.  I had too much time on my hands and spent most of it worrying.  And it finally hit me…the problem was that I was focusing on myself way too much.

So I did a few simple things to help others.  Nothing big.  A small donation here, a phone call there to a friend in transition and a handwritten letter to the little girl I sponsor via Christian Foundation for Children and Aging in Tanzania.  Can you believe I was holding off on writing her back because I was embarrassed to tell her that I was single?  She had asked about my family; and I held off on responding to a child because of something so ridiculous.  So I wrote that letter and told her all about Orelia…if she’s not family, then I don’t know who is.

Doing those little things brought me so much joy and clarity.  I not only could see what I needed to do next in my life, but I was in a much better emotional state to actually do it.  It’s amazing how making others happy is the fastest ticket to making myself happy.  If only I had known this years ago.  But alas, life is a journey.   And as a wise woman once said (aka Oprah)…when you know better, you do better.  Cheers to doing better every single day.

2 thoughts on “Make Someone Happy

Leave a Reply

