On Telecommuting

Orelia-Telecommuting

I walked into the living room the other day to find Orelia sprawled out in her favorite chair.  And I thought, “Man, life is good when you’re Orelia Mae.”  Admittedly, life is pretty darn sweet for me as well.  The sheer fact that I can work from home and take a break to find this beautiful little creature soaking up the sun makes me a lucky woman.

With all the chatter going on about Marissa Mayer’s decision to ax working from home for Yahoo employees, I thought I’d throw in my .02 cents.  I have worked from home for almost 7 years now.  And I can honestly say there are pros and cons to those who are lucky enough to have such flexibility in their workplace.

As an introvert, it works for me 110%.  I love that I can work without getting caught up in office politics and gossip.  I can play my favorite music on Pandora and get sh*% done.  And I adore being able to take a break in the middle of the day to go for a walk with Orelia.

One of the best parts of telecommuting is being in control of my own schedule.  Although I’m sure if you’re not the most responsible or focused individual, it could be a challenge.  I’ve had my good days and bad days with regards to focusing.  There have been days where I was up and on a conference call by 5 am, worked a full day and put in another call with someone overseas at 11 pm.  Then on the flip side, there were days when I was watching Oprah by 4 pm.  (Oh, how I miss you, Oprah).

It can be isolating though.  If you’re a social butterfly and thrive when you’re around people 24/7, it’s probably not for you.  But if you get energy from being solo like me (or with a beloved dog at your side as you work), then it’s the best thing in the world.  Admittedly, if you want to climb the corporate latter it’s probably best to be in the office where you’re visible.  However if you just want to do a great job, get your work done and have balance in your life, I can’t imagine a better scenario than working from home.

Orelia just let out a “woof” of approval and clearly agrees as evidenced by the photo below.  She’s the best co-worker I’ve ever had!

O-Telecommuting

2 thoughts on “On Telecommuting

  1. I’m not telecommuting really, but I am home doing my thing everyday and you’re so right, I do not miss all the office politics. I got the kitties here, they are highly entertaining. Orelia Mae is adorable there showing her tummy. What a sweet pal.

Leave a Reply

