Cairo: Paris by the Nile

Camels-Giza

After just 3 months of working again, I’m craving another adventurous vacation.  But alas, there are bills to pay and a dog to support. Rather than leaving the country, I’m going to relive a trip of a lifetime by simply blogging about it.  As Anais Nin once said, “we write to taste life twice, in the moment and in retrospect”.  And that’s exactly one of the many joys this blog has brought me.  Being able to relive joyful moments days, months and even years later.

In November 2010, I spent 2 weeks touring Egypt.  It was just weeks before the Arab Spring began and you could tell there was something stirring in the air in Cairo.  Despite the revolution that would take place in December, I found the Egyptian people to be incredibly friendly, peaceful, beautiful and elegant.  It’s as if every Egyptian man, woman and child has inherited the regal demeanor of the Pharaohs who are now entombed in the Valley of the Kings.

It was a childhood dream to visit the continent of Africa, cruise down the Nile and ride a camel out to the great Pyramids at Giza.  It exceeded all of my outrageously high expectations; and Africa has been calling me back ever since that trip.  Until I can hop on a plane, I’m going to revel in the memories of Egypt.  It is without a doubt one of the most beautiful countries I have ever had the pleasure to visit.

One of my favorite memories was simply hearing the Islamic Call to Prayer multiple times throughout the day.  Despite your religious beliefs, it’s impossible to deny the beauty of it.  I was raised Catholic, but I have nothing but admiration and respect for an entire nation that halts whatever they are doing at the sound to pay homage to their beliefs.  I occasionally listen to the Islamic Call to Prayer online and it always leaves me feeling peaceful and uplifted.

Light

Giza

Me

Giza

Sphinx

Cairo

Hookahs

Old-Cairo

Minaret

Parade

Old-Cairo

Let-there-be-light

4 thoughts on “Cairo: Paris by the Nile

Leave a Reply

