No, Thanks

Like all good little Southern girls, I was taught to be quiet and polite.  Only speak when spoken to.  Say yes, m’am and yes, sir.  Listen to authority.  Be accommodating.  Don’t ask for too much.  It’s taken me 30+ years to say “no, thanks” to all that nonsense.

I’m gonna to say what’s on my mind.  I’m going to speak my truth.  Even if it doesn’t come out eloquently and even if others don’t like it.  Dare I say it?  Even if they hate it.   I’m going to say “no” if something doesn’t work for me and walk away with no apologies.

Life is too short for anything else.  Orelia clearly agrees as evidenced by the recent fist bump she gave me.  I got your back too, Orelia!

Fist-Bump

2 thoughts on “No, Thanks

  1. Amen to that. This is a real hard one for me. I pump myself up, like oh yeah, I’m gonna say NO! and I’m not even going to explain why. I’m just going to do it, and be assertive and they are going to have to deal. And then. . . .I either say yes, maybe or I lie:( Ick.

Leave a Reply

